DescriptionThe temp folder on the Workflow server below is increasing in size more and more, which is affecting performance:
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Web Server Extensions\15\WorkflowRoot\temp
What is the process for removing data from this folder?
Applies toFoundation, Workflow
CauseBy default, the auto archival option is turned on, which means the contents of the temp folder will continue to increase with use.
When a user launches a new form, fills the form and clicks on 'Save and Route', a copy of the filled form is saved to C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Web Server Extensions\14\WorkflowRoot\temp , in the form of an .jpg file in a folder.
If the user launches the form and immediately clicks on the 'Cancel' button, only an empty folder is created (with no.jpg file).
Solution/Immediate WorkaroundWhen the purge process is completed, the folders under the temp folder should be deleted. This is a known issue in 10.x release of Foundation, and is fixed in version 11.x.
If the purge process is not clearing the temp folder, you will need to remove the contents manually or set a task to delete them, such as items over x days old. Before doing this, ensure you take a back-up or rename the existing temp folder. If there are any issues, you can restore to the previous version.
Additional Information 157684
Here are some other TEMP directories that can be deleted:
C:\Program Files\Common Files\microsoft shared\Web Server Extensions\15\WorkflowRoot\temp\form
C:\Program Files\Common Files\microsoft shared\Web Server Extensions\14\WorkflowRoot\temp\form